Kelvin Grant

Kelvin Grant (born 9th July 1971, United Kingdom) Founding member of Musical Youth.

The band has been founded 1979 in Birmingham and included two pairs of teenager brothers.
1982 band has been enhanced with Dennis Seaton as a vocalist. At the same time “Pass the Dutchie” single has been released, a song based on popular “Pass the Koutchie” by Jamaican trio Mighty Diamonds.
The single has reached Top 1 in UK and Top 10 in USA. The song topped hit lists in Canada, Australia and many European countries, and the sales reached millions of copies.

Music video was also huge success and have been the first featuring an all- black band on MTV channel,letting Musical Youth be part of the history of black music.
Subsequent singles “Youth of Today” and “Never Gonna Give You Up” have also gained great commercial success.  The last triumph of the band was “Unconditional Love” by Donna Summer, featuring band members. 1984 Musical Youth was nominated for Grammy Awards and released their last single “Let’s Go to the Moon 2016 marks Kelvin Grant’s comeback on the music scene.

The potential first single “Defend Them” (music: Krystian Walczak K-Jah Sound lyrics: Kelvin Grant) is being aired currently on a number of radio channels in UK and proved to be a true hit during recent summer tour with Maleo Reggae Rockers band. September 2016 in Malta, Kelvin Grant have been working on two music videos featuring his two singles from the upcoming album(„Defend Them” and „Jah Love Light”), produced by House of Peace Productions (Malta).


    More Stories
    Toots and the Maytals Win Best Reggae Album Grammy 2021